HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Sept. 30 — The Hollywood Film Festival’s Board of Advisors is proud to announce that noted film preservationist ROGER L. MAYER will be honored with the festival’s “Hollywood Outstanding Achievement in Film Preservation Award.” Paula Wagner, this year’s festival chairwoman, formally made the announcement today.

Regarding the announcement, Ms. Wagner said, “Film restoration and preservation is perhaps the most important, yet the least lauded of trades in our industry. We are thrilled for this opportunity to recognize Roger Mayer, a driving force in the movement to save our film heritage.”

The award will be bestowed upon Mr. Mayer as part of the Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony on Monday evening, October 20, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Other festival honorees include Columbia Pictures Chairman Amy Pascal, director Ron Howard, actor Anthony Hopkins, actress Goldie Hawn, producer Sydney Pollack, actor Orlando Bloom, actress Scarlett Johansson, screenwriter Ron Bass, cinematographer John Toll, editor Michael Kahn, composer Howard Shore, songwriter David Foster, animator Andrew Stanton, visual effects artist John Gaeta, costume designer Ann Roth, production designer William J. Creber, and casting director Deborah Aquila.

ROGER L. MAYER has been a devoted and active advocate and leader in the efforts to preserve the film industry’s heritage for many years. He is a member of the National Film Preservation Board of the Library of Congress as well as Chairman of the National Film Preservation Foundation.

The National Film Preservation Board serves as a public advisory group to the Librarian of Congress, and works to ensure the survival, conservation, and increased public availability of America’s film heritage, including advising on the annual selection of films to the National Film Registry, and on the development and implementation of the national film preservation plan. The National Film Preservation Foundation, an independent, non-profit charity affiliated with the National Film Preservation Board, raises private funds to help American archives preserve films and make them publicly available. It supports activities nationwide that preserve American films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition.

Mr. Mayer has been President and Chief Operating Officer of Turner Entertainment Co. since 1986. TEC was acquired by Time-Warner in 1996. Before joining TEC, he was Senior Vice President – Administration for Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc., and President of MGM Laboratories, Inc. His association with MGM covered a period of twenty-five years.

Roger Mayer started in the motion picture industry in 1952 as a lawyer with Columbia Pictures, and later became a general studio executive at Columbia. He joined MGM in 1961 as Assistant General Manager, progressing upward to Senior VP and President of the Laboratory, which involved supervising the operation of MGM Studio and the Laboratory, in addition to corporate administrative functions.

Mr. Mayer was born in New York City and educated at Horace Mann School in Riverdale, New York. He is a graduate of Yale University and the Yale Law School. In addition to his positions with the National Film Preservation Board and National Film Preservation Foundation, Mr. Mayer is Chairman of >the Board of the Motion Picture and Television Fund and a Board Member of its Corporate Board and Charitable Foundation. Formerly he was Vice President of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences and was on its Board of Directors, as well as on the Board of the Academy Foundation.

The 2003 Annual Hollywood Film Festival incorporates in its activities the Hollywood Film Conference, Hollywood Film Screenings, and Hollywood Awards.

This year’s festival will take place from October 15 to 20, and will showcase a selection of prestigious domestic and international feature films, shorts, documentaries, and animation. The venues include the Arclight Cinemas for the “Hollywood Film Conference,” and “Hollywood Film Screenings” and the Beverly Hilton Hotel for the “Hollywood Awards.”

Festival Co-chair Paula Wagner is a producer and partner of the production company Cruise/Wagner Productions. Over the past ten years, they have produced and executive produced a wide variety of films ranging from the MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE series to WITHOUT LIMITS to THE OTHERS to NARC to VANILLA SKY.

The sponsors of the Hollywood Film Festival include the American Cinema Editors, American Society of Cinematographers, Arclight Cinemas, Art Directors Guild, Casting Society of America, Costume Designers Guild, Daily Variety,, European Union, FilmMaker Magazine, Hollywood Chamber of Commerce, Hollywood Creative Directory, Hollywood Network, The Hollywood Reporter, International Cinematographers Guild, International Documentary Association, Kodak, Motion Picture Editors Guild, Panavision, PR Newswire, Raleigh Studios,, Technicolor, and YAHOO! Movies, Inc., among others.

For more information go to

Festival Contact:
Hollywood Film Festival®
433 N. Camden Drive, Suite 600
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

View Comments
comments powered by Disqus