HFF to Honor Producer Irwin Winkler at 3rd Annual Festival | Hollywood Film Awards

HFF to Honor Producer Irwin Winkler at 3rd Annual Festival

Hollywood, CA — May 15, 1999 — The 3rd Annual Hollywood Film Festival has announced that distinguished producer/director Irwin Winkler, whose films have received 12 Academy Awards from 45 nominations, including four Best Picture nominations — a record that stands alone in contemporary Hollywood — will be honored with the festival’s “Hollywood Outstanding Achievement in Producing Award.” The announcement was made today by Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the Hollywood Film Festival.

Mr. Winkler received the Academy Award for Best Picture for his 1976 film “Rocky,” starring Sylvester Stallone. His other Best Picture nominations were for “Raging Bull,” “The Right Stuff,” and “Goodfellas,” while “They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?” amassed nine Oscar nominations. Mr. Winkler is the only producer to have 3 films on the AFI top 100 list.

Jerry Mr. Winkler’s exemplary work as a producer includes a wide range of films, including “At First Sight,” “The Net,” “The Juror,” “Night and the City,” “Guilty By Suspicion,” “Music Box,” “True Confessions,” “Comes a Horseman,” “New York, New York,” “Nickelodeon,” “The Gambler,” The Mechanic,” “Up the Sandbox,” “The Gang That Couldn’t Shoot Straight,” “The Strawberry Statement,” “Point Blank,” and “Double Trouble.” Mr. Winkler has worked closely with the likes of Martin Scorsese, John Boorman, Bertrand Tavernier, Sydney Pollack, Costa-Gavras, Alan Pakula, and Philip Kaufman to produce some of the rawest, most introspective, and critically acclaimed portraits of the human experience to come out of Hollywood.

Regarding the announcement, Mr. de Abreu states, “Mr. Winkler is one of Hollywood’s most accomplished and highly regarded producers. His distinguished career in the motion picture industry serves as a perfect example of what all filmmakers should strive for. An independent producer who believes so much in a film (“Rocky”) that he will mortgage his own house to finance it, is worthy of great admiration.”

The “Hollywood Outstanding Achievement in Producing Award” will be bestowed upon Mr. Winkler as part of the gala awards ceremony on Monday evening, August 9, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The Hollywood Film Festival was founded by Carlos de Abreu and Janice Pennington, and its co-founders, chairs, and co-chairs include John Briley, James Cameron, Laifun Chung, Richard Donner, Gene Hackman, Peter Hyams, Norman Jewison, Ted Kotcheff, Martin Landau, Mimi Leder, George Litto, Penny Marshall, Paul Mazursky, James Orr, David Permut, Fred Roos, Mark Rydell, Quentin Tarantino, and actor James Woods, among many other Hollywood notables.

For more information go to http://www.hollywoodfestival.com

Festival Contact:
Hollywood Film Festival®
433 N. Camden Drive, Suite 600
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

Image by PR Photos

View Comments
comments powered by Disqus